Reunited at Last

Friends will always be there amidst the distance, time and anything in between.

Its been almost six months since we last see and talk to each other. Too busy to make a text message, too tired to make an appointment, too many reason to not make an effort to communicate. That’s what happen to us, so much reason and so much of anything that we tend to forget.

I consider him my male best friend. I’ve known him since our high school days, back then he was not included in my circle of friends but his been my classmate for four years and school mate for ten years. Then, everything changes when my oh-so-called friends betrayed me and stabbed me at my back.

It happen on the last quarter of our senior year in high school, though, they already talked to me just days before our graduation but the trust that they broke can’t easily be amend. During those times, I am alone, not wanted, and broken but I must held my head up high for I am not at fault in the matter. Also, those times I found somone that I’ve been giving a second glance – him.

He was aware of the situation and even though he was not part of the warring he’d been asked to take side between me and them and he choose none. He talked to me liked he knows nothing and he hang out with them like he belong.

Time slips like it owns us, graduation passed and we’re now on college. At this time, I already ended what binds me to my ex-friends, like I didn’t know them but I know what happened during those times took an impact on me. I didn’t trust so easily now, I’ve become much quite and now there is a boundary between me and and those I’ve met. But when I brake all my ties to my past there was and is that only remains and it’s him.

We continued our communication, he usually visits me at our house and hang out with my mother. We talked a lot of our problems, indiferences and we just bum around. It was like that during our college days. When one of us has birthday, we make cards that has a novella for a message and brought gifts to each other. We go out to the mall to watch movies, buy books or just to go shopping. His been my male counterpart in everything.

We have different taste in books or movies but in the end we borrow each other things. We are different in so many things, in vision in life, in our motto, in our dreams but somehow it makes us more connected and in tuned to one another. When one of us has a problem, one text or visit and we just knew it. No more talked, no more questions and no more reasons.

But when everything become so hectic and a 40 miles distance, there’s a change in us. The visits became chats, the text message to phone call, the letters to emails, the gifts to emoticons and the promises became meaningless words. Until there is a month or more that pass without communicating or we forget birthdays. Everything changes even us.

It affects us to the point that we were to blind to see. We still consider one another us friends but the we way we were before cannot be brought back now.

The last time we talked and see each other was when we celebrate my passing of the CPA board exam, it was like a rewind all over again. We talked for hours, we took tons of pictures and we hang out like before. Like there is no time and distance that happened between us, like we were the usual us. Those times were precious, a memory to keep and remember.

Then another six months passed with no communication again, well, there was, but it ended badly. We argued for real, for the first time due to our different views in life. Before, our views didn’t matter but that night, that day, it matters. We kept our pride high, I didn’t say sorry so was he. I thought thats it, no more, no more friendship between us. But I was wrong.

I don’t know who approached first, who maked the first text message, who asked out, but we did reconcile. In fact, when we meet again after six months, after that argument, no one talked about what happened, what transpired that night, we treat it like nothing happened and I guess it worked out.

He came from Quezon City, while I am just a jeep away from our meeting place. At first I want to back out, I want to sleep the day ahead, I just want to rest but I do know also that we must meet or else there’s no more chance again.

When we already do meet, we ate first in Don Henricos by the Seaside. We stayed there for almost an hour or two. Now, we talked real problems, our life struggles, our future plans. No more of the past, the ex-friends, no more of it. We do know that between those time, we grow, we mature.

After the lunch/dinner, we walked along the seaside and watched fireworks. We just enjoyed the scenery, the ambience because we do know that it will take another 6 months or more before we meet again. And last to our itinerary was to watched movie, Now You See Me 2, hahaha, the movie title itself tells our reunion though the story of the movie is totally different from us. Hahaha.

We part ways on the same spot we meet that day. During those moment, we held no promises to see each other again, we don’t talked when we will meet again, we just waved our hands, smiled and said “See you again.”

That’s when I knew I already found one of a friend that last a lifetime. We might not see each other regularly and there are times that we fought, times that our communication missed, but we do know one thing: that is whenever we need someone, we have a friend by our side. There might be some distance between us or a personal struggle but it will not stopped us to run in each other’s side if one needs to be.

Back in my high school days, I asked myself why did my ex-friends betrayed me? Why did they do that? I stumbled on the answer when I meet my friends now and when he stayed by my side, because I have to found them. I may lost hundreds of my friends then but I gain an extended family in the form of my college friends and the who stayed-him.

Everyone of us has an experience of being left behind and we do question our selves of the reason why we were left. Some were bitter and depressed that they cannot move on and fathom the gist of what happened. But lucky are those, who give loved to the wrong persons and received it from the right one. I am among those lucky person

Align yourself with people that support your growth as an individual, keep them, for you cannot find another set of individuals that not only support and accept your whole being but also an initiator of everything.

Leave a Reply

